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Program Guidance and Rules
Updated 9.8.20

The Housing Assistance Program has been funded by CARES Act Funds awarded to the Utah Legislature and distributed to the Utah Housing and Community Development Division. This program is designed to assist landlords in applying on behalf of their tenants in obtaining or retaining rental housing who have been negatively impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic.
[bookmark: _heading=h.ikasijvdkp3r]General Program Rules

Landlord Assistance
1. Rental Assistance will be $2,000 or less per month. Landlord must apply on behalf of tenant(s) monthly. There is no limit to how many times an applicant can be approved within the window of time the program operates.
2. Rent payments will go directly to landlords.
3. No rental assistance will be issued after December 30, 2020.
4. Landlords can apply for this funding through WebGrants.
5. Property owner or tenant may not receive a duplication of benefit from local, state or federal resources. Tenants must disclose whether they have received other local (including churches, Red Cross, etc.), state and federal rental assistance. Property owners who receive rent from tenant or another assistance provider for the same unit and month will be required to repay funds to the State of Utah.
Applicant Eligibility
1. Applicants must have a combined gross income at or below 100% AMI, and
2. Applicants must have been negatively impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Property Eligibility
1. Property must be located in the State of Utah
[bookmark: _heading=h.r54kr7qx240r]Eligible Uses of Funds
Expenses from March 1, 2020 - December 30, 2020
1. Monthly Rent including any amounts owed under the lease (i.e. taxes, insurance, utilities) as stated on the lease.
2. Arrears (payments made for housing assistance over 30 days past due) is allowable for those that didn’t receive a UI benefit for the month(s) seeking arrearages. Covers monthly rent in arrears as stated on the lease.
Documentation
Landlord Documentation
1. W-9 (landlord only)
2. LHAP application (for each tenant)
3. Self-Declaration of Income Form (for each tenant)


Documentation
Landlord Documentation
4. W-9 (landlord only)
5. LHAP application (for each tenant)
6. Self-Declaration of Income Form (for each tenant)
Income Determination
[bookmark: _heading=h.ah9kqipdxvp6]Income will be determined by the Self-Declaration Form.
[bookmark: _heading=h.rbtojvgrvvaz]Waivers
[bookmark: _heading=h.njdh905o1uxa]Waivers to policy guidelines and rules can be staffed and granted by HCD Program Specialists for extenuating circumstances.
[bookmark: _heading=h.8pgghnek2743]How to Apply
To apply for the Landlord Housing Assistance Program do the following:
1. Click https://jobs.utah.gov/covid19/covidother.html and select Register Here
2. Once registration is complete, you will receive a login and password.
3. Log into Housing Assistance Program and select Funding Opportunities
4. Select 20 HAP
5. Start a New Application.
6. Project Title:  Property Name
7. Select Go to Application Forms
8. Under Application Forms, select Landlord HAP Application
9. Edit, enter in application information, SAVE
10. Select Add to enter each tenant’s claim information
11. Select Go to Application Forms
12. Select Landlord Attachments and attach the W-9 (landlord only) https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-w-9 
13. Select Tenant Attachments and for each tenant attach the following:
1. Tenant Application for Rental Assistance.
2. Self-Declaration of Income.
3. Lease or other written agreement for tenant(s) at the property.
14. Go to Application Forms and click Submit.
State Contact
Sanobi Johnson: sanobijohnson@utah.gov or (385)-377-3338.
[bookmark: _heading=h.7wvyrectuu6u]FAQs
1.  How do I assist a person who wants to apply for Unemployment benefits?
Regarding Unemployment Insurance (UI) and Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA). Applicants should:
(1) Use the "Am I eligible link https://jobs.utah.gov/ui/home/Home/UiEligible to assess whether or not they will be able to receive UI benefits. If that link indicates they will not receive UI they should apply for PUA.

2. Eligibility Benefits

(1) Apply for and manage benefits link: https://jobs.utah.gov/eligibility/index.html
(2) Apply for weatherization and/or utility benefits:  https://jobs.utah.gov/housing/scso/wap/index.html


Utah Housing and Community Development Division
Landlord Housing Assistance Program
Tenant Application for Assistance

TENANT NAME:		
Current Address:		
City, State, Zip Code:		
Home Phone:  	   Alternate Phone:  	   Email:	
Number of Bedrooms:  		Monthly Rent:  	
Arrears Amount Owed:  	
Arrears for the Month(s) of:  	

· This is my Primary Residence
· I am requesting my landlord apply for rental assistance on my behalf.
· I am NOT receiving any additional rental assistance from other sources (i.e., Red Cross, churches)
· I did NOT receive an Unemployment Insurance benefit for the month(s) seeking arrearages.

DEMOGRAPHIC INFORMATION
(LIST THE HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD AND ALL OTHER MEMBERS WHO WILL BE LIVING IN THE UNIT.  GIVE THE RELATIONSHIP OF EACH FAMILY MEMBER TO THE HEAD.)

	TENANT’S FULL NAME
	RELATIONSHIP
	AGE
	SEX

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	




RACE (Check One)	HISPANIC/LATINO ETHNICITY (Check one)
[bookmark: bookmark=id.30j0zll][bookmark: bookmark=id.1fob9te]☐ White	☐ Yes	☐ No
[bookmark: bookmark=id.3znysh7][bookmark: bookmark=id.2et92p0]☐ Black/ or African American
[bookmark: bookmark=id.tyjcwt]☐ Asian
[bookmark: bookmark=id.3dy6vkm]☐ American Indian or Alaska Native
[bookmark: bookmark=id.1t3h5sf]☐ Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
☐ Multi Racial
[bookmark: bookmark=id.4d34og8]☐ Other __________

APPLICATION CERTIFICATION:  I/WE UNDERSTAND THAT THE ABOVE INFORMATION IS BEING COLLECTED TO DETERMINE IF I/WE ARE ELIGIBLE TO RECEIVE RENTAL ASSISTANCE.  I/WE AUTHORIZE THE STATE OF UTAH TO VERIFY ALL INFORMATION PROVIDED ON THIS APPLICATION.

	
		_________
HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD SIGNATURE	DATE
	
			
SPOUSE SIGNATURE	DATE





Housing and Community Development Division
Landlord Housing Assistance Program
Tenant Declaration of Income

INSTRUCTIONS: To complete this statement, each adult household member must calculate annual income. Adult beneficiary members must then sign this statement to certify that the information is complete and accurate, and that source documentation will be provided upon request. The statement indicating impact of Covid-19 on income is required.

Tenant Income Information 
I/we certify that this information is complete and accurate. I/we agree to provide, upon request, documentation on all income sources to the Program Administrator. 

	Tenant Names (Print)
	Current Income (Annualized)
	Tenant Signature
	Date

	 
	 $
	
	

	 
	 $
	
	

	 
	 $
	
	

	 
	 $
	
	

	 
	 $
	
	



Annual gross income (total of all members) = $  	
County 100% AMI per HUD income limits =  $  	

How has COVID-19 negatively impacted your household? ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


	
	100% AMI by County

	
	1
	2
	3
	4
	5
	6
	7
	8

	Beaver County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Box Elder County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Cache County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Carbon County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Daggett County
	60200
	68800
	77400
	86000
	92900
	99800
	106700
	113600

	Davis County
	60500
	69100
	77700
	86300
	93300
	100200
	107100
	114000

	Duchesne County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Emery County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Garfield County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Grand County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Iron County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Juab County
	56300
	64400
	72400
	80400
	86900
	93300
	99700
	106200

	Kane County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Millard County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Morgan County
	60500
	69100
	77700
	86300
	93300
	100200
	107100
	114000

	Piute County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Rich County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Salt Lake County
	61600
	70400
	79200
	87900
	95000
	102000
	109000
	116100

	San Juan County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Sanpete County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Sevier County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Summit County
	79800
	91200
	102600
	113900
	123100
	132200
	141300
	150400

	Tooele County
	56000
	64000
	72000
	80000
	86400
	92800
	99200
	105600

	Uintah County
	55000
	62800
	70700
	78500
	84800
	91100
	97400
	103700

	Utah County
	56300
	64400
	72400
	80400
	86900
	93300
	99700
	106200

	Wasatch County
	61900
	70800
	79600
	88400
	95500
	102600
	109700
	116700

	Washington County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Wayne County
	51900
	59300
	66700
	74100
	80100
	86000
	91900
	97900

	Weber County
	60500
	69100
	77700
	86300
	93300
	100200
	107100
	114000



