Salt Lake City

COUNCIL: New SLC Council leadership chosen

Jan. 8, 2019
Contact: Dan Weist or Molly Farmer,
Council Communication Team

SALT LAKE CITY – City Council Members have elected a new leadership team for 2019.

At the Council’s January 8 meeting, a six-member* group chose Charlie Luke, who represents District 6, as the Chair. James Rogers, who represents District 1, was chosen as the Vice Chair.

Both Members of this new team have previously served in Council leadership.

“I’m looking forward to again serving Salt Lake City in the year ahead as Chair of the City Council,” said Luke, who was first elected to the Council in 2011. “It’s challenging work, but together with my colleagues as well as residents, businesses, community partners, and other leaders we can address our issues and carry forward the great momentum we have in our growing City.”

Rogers was elected to the Council in 2013. The team will serve a standard, one-year term beginning immediately. They take over from outgoing Chair Erin Mendenhall and Chris Wharton, who was Vice Chair.

Every January, the Council elects one of its Members to serve as Chairperson and one member to serve as Vice Chairperson. Chair duties include; signing documents such as adopted ordinances and resolutions, representing the position of the Council to the media and the Mayor’s Administration, oversees management of the Office of the City Council including monitoring and guiding the Council priorities, and scheduling items on the City Council meeting agendas. The Vice Chair acts as backup to the Chairperson in the event that the Chairperson is unavailable for any reason.

Council Members, acting in their capacity as the Redevelopment Agency Board (RDA) are expected to choose a new RDA leadership team at the Jan. 15 meeting.

*One Council District seat, D4, is currently vacant.


Share "COUNCIL: New SLC Council leadership chosen" to your social network: