Standing Order 10-10
This Order is issued to update our standing orders in light of Utah Supreme Court’s Administrative Order dated June 3, 2021. This order replaces Standing Order No. 10-9. The court’s operations continue to also be governed by the Utah State Court’s Pandemic Influenza Response Plan, the Utah State Court’s Continuity of Operations Plan, and this court’s own Continuity of Operations Plan. The following orders are to remain in place as long as the Judiciary keeps the Salt Lake City Justice Court (“SLCJC”) in the yellow risk phase.
1. Covid-19 Protocols. The courthouse’s Covid-19 protocols are governed by both the orders of the Utah Supreme Court and the orders of the Salt Lake City Mayor’s Office. Under these orders, no one exhibiting symptoms of Covid-19 will be allowed to enter the courthouse. All individuals at the courthouse are to maintain six feet physical distance from any individual from a separate household.
2. Court Access. The Salt Lake City Justice Court is accessible to the public during regular business hours, and will continue to accept filings and be available to answer phone calls, emails, and other communications.
- Physical Access. The courthouse will be open to the public every business day from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Court patrons who do not have access to their virtual hearings are invited to come to the courthouse to use our equipment to access their hearings. The court has two private booths that can be used for this purpose as well as other spaces.
- Telephonic Access. Court personnel will be answering our main number, (801)535-6300, every business day from 8:30 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.
- Email Access. Court personnel will be responding to email (firstname.lastname@example.org, email@example.com, & firstname.lastname@example.org) during regular business hours.
- Website Access. During business hours, parties can use our website’s chat feature. (www.slc.gov/courts/). At all hours, parties are free to submit a “request to judge.”
3. Contact Information Required. To enable our transition to tele- and video-conferencing, anyone making a request of the court is required to include, IF AVAILABLE, their telephone number, current email address, and current mailing address as well as their case number(s) and date of birth.
4. In-custody Defendants. The court will continue to perform all mission-critical functions for in-custody defendants, including, but not limited to:
- Probable cause review of warrantless arrests,
- Bail hearings,
- Bench warrant hearings,
- Appearances mandated by statute, and
- Sentencing hearings.
During the yellow phase, hearings set for in-custody defendants will presumptively occur via WEBEX video-conferencing to minimize the risk to vulnerable populations. Transports will be arranged as needed for in-person bench trials and jury trials.
5. Out-of-custody Defendants.
i. Traffic. Defendants who are issued a non-mandatory traffic citation during the yellow phase are ordered to pay or schedule an arraignment within 14 days of the date of the citation using this link: https://www.slc.gov/courts/2020/06/15/bookable-calendars/. You may pay by mail, in person or visit our website at this link.
ii. Misdemeanor/Criminal. Defendants who are issued a misdemeanor/criminal citation that is a mandatory appearance during the yellow phase are ordered to schedule an arraignment within 14 days of the date of the citation using this link: https://www.slc.gov/courts/2020/06/15/bookable-calendars/.
Defendants who are unable to schedule their arraignments using the above links must file an objection with the court listing the defendant’s name, case number, and the reason(s) why the defendant cannot appear remotely within 14 days of the date of the citation/order. Failure to comply with these orders may result in a warrant being issued for the defendant’s arrest and/or the suspension of the defendant’s driving privilege.
If you are unsure if your case is mandatory or not, please contact our Judicial Assistants to determine that information.
6. Trials. In person jury trials and bench trials are being conducted at the courthouse during the yellow phase.
i. Jury Trials. We are conducting partially in-person jury trials during the yellow phase. On the day of trial, jury selection takes place via WEBEX video-conferencing beginning at 8:30 a.m. At 10 a.m., after the conclusion of jury selection, all remaining matters on the jury trial calendar are handled via WEBEX video-conferencing (e.g., the remaining cases that are either scheduled for disposition, show-up, or continuance). The jury trial itself begins in person at the courthouse at approximately 11:30 a.m.
ii. Bench Trials. Bench trials in infraction cases are still presumptively remote pursuant to the Utah Supreme Court’s order. However, the court is conducting in-person bench trials in Class B & C misdemeanors, as well as in infraction cases where either party has convinced the judge presiding over the trial that the case should be heard in person.
7. Self-Report Dates. Individuals sentenced to jail are ordered to call the Salt Lake County jail at least one week prior to their self-report date to set up their intake. The jail can be reached at (385)468-8400.
8. Small Claims. Small claims cases are proceeding in the yellow phase via WEBEX video-conferencing.
9. Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Services (“CJS”). If you have been referred to CJS by the court for pretrial supervision or probation , please contact them at (385)468-3478 or (385)468-3572. CJS is open weekdays during business hours for in person work for those individuals unable to access them via telephone.
10. All Orders Remain. All pre-trial release orders, sentencing orders, and plea-in-abeyance agreements remain in effect during the yellow phase. The court will continue to monitor compliance with its orders. However, the court will also continue to accept online equivalents as substitutes for in-person requirements like online VIP classes, online Prime-for-Life classes, online assessments, and other forms of online treatment.
11. Fix-It or Equipment Violations and Fingerprints. Court staff are available in person at the courthouse during business hours to handle fix-it tickets and fingerprints as needed.
12. Traffic School. Defendants may fulfill any traffic school requirements online at https://www.slc.gov/courts/traffic-school/, and also have the option of completing traffic school through other entities.
13. Public Access to Court Hearings During Covid-19 Emergency. Links to our WEBEX video-conferencing calendars are available online at: https://www.slc.gov/courts/virtual-court-links-via-webex/.
14. All directives, proclamations, and orders may be amended at any time. The court will respond to such amendments as quickly as possible. In the meantime, the court encourages all of its partners and patrons to follow its social media accounts to obtain the latest news regarding the operations of the court during the pandemic:
• twitter.com/saltlakejustice (aka @saltlakejustice)
STANDING ORDERS REGARDING COVID-19
- Standing Order 10-10. CURRENT ORDER-Replacing all Orders below.
- Standing Order 10-9.
- Standing Order 10-8
- Standing Order 10-7
- Standing Order 10-6 including Exhibit A
- Standing Order 10-5
- Burton Order (March 2021)
SALT LAKE COUNTY CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES (also known as CJS)
If you have been referred to CJS by the court, please call, Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Services Pretrial or Probation to schedule an appointment at (385)468-3500 between 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday – Friday.
All scheduled appointments will be conducted via WebEx or telephone; your initial or intake appointment may take 60 to 90 minutes. CJS office will remain open for appointments only for individuals without technology access.
If you are not represented and want to move your case forward, contact the City Prosecutor at: DA-SLCJusticeCourt@slco.org or call (385)468-7900.
If you have been appointed a Legal Defender at Arraignment, the following is their contact information:
Salt Lake Legal Defenders
275 East 200 South
Salt Lake City UT 84111
Phone: (801)532-5444 Website: http://www.sllda.com/
Citations for Salt Lake City Justice Court instructions have been modified due to the COVID-19 Pandemic as follows:
THIS INFORMATION REPLACES INSTRUCTIONS PRINTED ON THE FRONT OF YOUR CITATION DUE TO THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC WARNING! FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THESE INSTRUCTIONS MAY RESULT IN A WARRANT BEING ISSUED FOR YOUR ARREST AND/OR THE SUSPENSION OF YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGE.
You are ordered to schedule an arraignment WITHIN 14 DAYS OF THE DATE OF THIS CITATION by visiting slc.gov/courts and clicking on the “Schedule Your Arraignment” button on our homepage.
If you do not schedule an arraignment using this link, you must file an objection with the court listing your name, case number, and the reason(s) why you cannot appear remotely. You may contact the court at
Address: 333 South 200 East SLC, Utah 84111
Phone Hours: (801)535-6300, call between 8:30a.m. – 4:00p.m.
Chat: Chat is available for use when an agent is on line during the day.
Court Lobby Hours: Open from 8:00 am-5:00 pm (cashier available for payments).
Note: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, court dates will be scheduled out far later than usual. If you wish to discuss a remote resolution of your case with the Salt Lake City Prosecutor’s Office, contact them at DA-SLCJusticeCourt@slco.org or (385)468-7900. To speak with a defense attorney, call (801)532-5444 and ask for the Misdemeanor Attorney of the Day.
LINKS TO FIND INFORMATION ABOUT COVID-19
- Coronavirus and Utah (Utah Department of Health)
- General virus information (Centers for Disease Control and -Prevention)
- COVID information (Salt Lake County Health)
- Utah State Courts – Alerts
STEPS TO PROTECT YOURSELF
- Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds especially after you have been in a public place, or after blowing your nose, coughing, or sneezing.
- If soap and water are not readily available, use a hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol. Cover all surfaces of your hands and rub them together until they feel dry.
- Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands.
- Avoid close contact with people that are sick
- Stay home if you are sick (take care of personal matters via email or phone).
- Put a distance between yourself and other people.
- Cover coughs and sneezes.
- Clean and disinfect.
- Stop Spread of Germs-wash hands
- Stop Spread of Germs-wash hands – Spanish version
- Symptoms of COVID-10
- Symptoms of COVID-10 – Spanish version
- For your health-avoid shaking hands
If English is not your primary language and you are unable to understand or communicate in English, the court will appoint an interpreter for you for all court hearings. You must request a court interpreter at least 3 days before the hearing, or the hearing may have to be postponed. To request a court interpreter, you may call the court at (801)535-6300, you may also email the court at email@example.com, so that an interpreter may be scheduled to appear at your court hearing.
Utah State list of Legal Clinics
Utah State Bar list of Legal Clinics
Modest Means Lawyer Referral Program
Finding Legal Help
Click here for a jurisdictional map.
ADA Notice: If you are a party to a case, a witness or prospective juror and you need special accommodations (including communication aids and services) during an upcoming proceeding, please call the Salt Lake City Justice Court at (801)535-6300, or fax the court at (801)535-6302 at least three business days before the proceeding.