Salt Lake City

Salt Lake City to Host Inauguration for Mayor, Council Members

December 29, 2023

Contact: Whitney Gonzalez Fernandez
801-535-7600 –

Salt Lake City to Host Inauguration for Mayor, Council Members

The City’s Mayor and four Council Members will take the Oath of Office. 

– – – – –

SALT LAKE CITY – Salt Lake City invites the public, media, and stakeholders to attend the Inauguration and Oath of Office Ceremony for the City’s elected officials. All will be sworn in to serve a four-year term except for District 7’s Sarah Young, who will serve two years. The District 7 seat will be back on the ballot in 2025 for a four-year term.

What: Inauguration and Oath of Office Ceremony for Salt Lake City Mayor and Council Members. The event will include performances by Ballet Folklórico ECK, Lil’ Kai and Michaëlle Martial.

Who: Alejandro Puy, Council District 2
Eva Lopez Chavez, Council District 4
Dan Dugan, Council District 6
Sarah Young, Council District 7
Erin Mendenhall, Mayor

When: Tuesday, Jan. 2, 2024, at 12 p.m.

Where: The Salt Lake City Main Library – Nancy Tessman Auditorium.  

A live broadcast will be available online at and on YouTube and Facebook. Comcast and Prism TV subscribers can view the event on Channel 17.  

Getting There: 200 East will be closed to traffic from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Media vehicles will have access to parking via an officer at the 400 South/200 East barricade. The Nancy Tessman Auditorium may be accessed through the Library’s Plaza entrance. Due to construction, the Library’s 200 East/400 South entrance is closed. A designated media area will be in front of the auditorium’s AV booth. 

Attendees are encouraged to take public transportation; the closest TRAX station is the Library stop. Free parking will be available in the Salt Lake City Library’s underground parking structure (accessible from westbound 500 South or eastbound 400 South between 200 and 300 East) between 11 a.m. and 3 p.m.

Accessibility: The event provides ADA-accessible accommodations, including assistive listening devices, reserved seating, wheelchair access, restrooms, and accessible parking.    

ADA parking is available in the library’s underground parking facility, accessible from westbound 500 South or eastbound 400 South between 200 and 300 East. Additional ADA parking is available along 500 South between 200 East and State Street. Vehicles displaying a disability license plate or placard and transporting a person with a disability may park at any City parking meter without charge for up to two hours.     

Spanish and ASL interpreters will also be available for the audience. 


About Salt Lake City:
Salt Lake City Corporation is the municipal government for Utah’s capital city. The Mayor is the chief executive and the City Council is the legislative body. Committed to providing outstanding public services, fostering community engagement, and promoting innovation, Salt Lake City Corporation is dedicated to creating a city that thrives and reflects the values of its diverse residents. For more information, visit

About The Salt Lake City Council:  
The Salt Lake City Council is the seven-member legislative branch of Utah’s capital city. The Council sets Salt Lake City’s overall policy direction and allocates resources via the adoption of annual budgets and ordinances. The Council also serves as the Board of Directors for Salt Lake City’s Redevelopment Agency, the Local Building Authority, and the Board of Canvassers. For more information, visit

Share "Salt Lake City to Host Inauguration for Mayor, Council Members" to your social network: