Salt Lake City

COUNCIL: 2023 Council Leadership


January 3, 2023

Contact: Lehua Weaver
801-535-7600 –


Annual selection of Chair and Vice Chair occurred during the first Council meeting of the year. 

– – – – –

SALT LAKE CITY, UT – Salt Lake City Council members selected Darin Mano and Victoria Petro to serve as the Council Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, for 2023. Chair Mano represents District 5—home to 9th & 9th, Liberty Park and Smith’s Ballpark—and Vice Chair Petro represents District 1, which includes Rose Park, part of Fairpark and the SLC International Airport. 

The selection of Council Chair and Vice Chair takes place every January. Council leadership duties include driving Council priorities, speaking on behalf of the Council, setting agenda items, running meetings, overseeing the management of the Office of the City Council and signing adopted ordinances and resolutions. 

Serving on the Council since January 2020, Chair Mano looks forward to more future-oriented decisions that impact quality of life for Salt Lake City residents. 

I’m incredibly honored to lead the Council during what is sure to be another year of intense growth for our City,” said Chair Mano. “Last year, we made big changes to help improve housing affordability. I am excited to continue working on making Salt Lake City a place where anyone can thrive, regardless of circumstance, background, or income. I sincerely thank my colleagues for trusting me with this opportunity.”  

The Salt Lake City Council’s Vice Chair supports the Chair by providing counsel and acting as backup when the Chair is unavailable.  

Vice Chair Petro joined the Council in November 2021 and sees sustainable and strategic development—with young and diverse communities in mind—as one of the City’s most notable areas of opportunity. 

“A decade of living on the Westside has given me a front-row view of how important it is to have active and equitable representation for communities brimming with opportunity,” said Vice Chair Petro. “I am thrilled to join Chair Mano in leading the Council and protecting and preserving our City’s unique and rich culture.” 

Petro also represents Salt Lake City as a non-voting member of the Utah Inland Port Authority Board of Directors. 

Salt Lake City Council 2023 Meeting Schedule 

About The Salt Lake City Council:  

The Salt Lake City Council is the seven-member legislative branch of Utah’s capital city. The Council sets Salt Lake City’s overall policy direction and allocates resources via the adoption of annual budgets and ordinances. The Council also serves as the Board of Directors for Salt Lake City’s Redevelopment Agency, the Local Building Authority, and the Board of Canvassers. For more information, visit

Share "COUNCIL: 2023 Council Leadership" to your social network: