Salt Lake City

Boards and Commissions

(801) 535-6202

Historic Landmark Commission

In response to COVID-19; During this time, the Planning Division will be hosting public meetings electronically pursuant to Salt Lake City Emergency Proclamation No. 2 of 2020 (2)(b).


The Historic Landmark Commission conducts design reviews of new construction or alterations to landmark sites and to properties located in Salt Lake City’s local historic districts. Any demolition within an historic district must be approved by this Commission. The Commission is also charged with monitoring the preservation of historically significant resources within the boundaries of the City and reviewing proposed regulations affecting historic preservation. The Commission also reviews and makes recommendations on proposals to designate additional historic properties.

Contact Information

Marlene Rankins // Administrative Secretary
(801) 535-6171

Agendas and Minutes

Ordinance and Governing Documents

Rules of Procedures


Please see below for upcoming term expiration/vacancy dates.

If you are interested in serving on this board, please fill out and submit an application online. Only applications submitted up to one year prior to a vacancy date will be considered. The Mayor’s office will only contact applicants when considering them for specific appointments.

Meeting Information

Every first Thursday of the month; beginning at 5:30 p.m.
Additional meetings as needed.

City and County Building
Room 326 // 451 S State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84114

Member Qualifications

Seven to eleven members, appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the City Council, serve on the Historic Landmark Commission. Each member serves a four-year term. The Commission consists of citizens interested in historic preservation and knowledgeable about the heritage of the City. The Commission should include at least two architects and other members who possess preservation related experience in archeology, architecture, architectural history, construction, history, folk studies, law, public history, real estate appraisal or urban planning.

Residency Requirement: Each voting member shall be a resident of the City.

For any additional information, please reference Chapter 21A.06.050.D&E.

Powers and Duties

  • Encourage proper development and maintenance of historic structures and districts
  • Promote public awareness of historic preservation
  • Conduct studies of significant historic elements
  • Review demolition and alteration requests within historic districts
  • Recommend boundaries for Historic Districts to Planning Commission
  • When requested, make recommendations on conditional uses within historic districts
  • Make recommendations on master plans and possible ordinance revisions to Planning Commission, City Council, and Mayor’s Office

Current Members

#MemberCouncil DistrictServing SinceTerm Expires
1Victoria Petro-Eschler1 2017September 2021
2Aiden Lillie12020October 2024
4David Richardson32014September 2021
5Babs DeLay32020October 2024
7Michael Vela42019August 2023
8Kenton Peters52015August 2023
9John Ewanowski52020October 2024
10Robert Hyde62016October 2024
11Jessica Maw720192023