Salt Lake City

Boards and Commissions

Mosquito Abatement District

The Salt Lake City Mosquito Abatement District (SLCMAD) is a Special Service District with its own mission, bylaws, taxing status, and governing authority. Because its boundaries closely mirror Salt Lake City, its members are appointed by City Council (not the Mayor). The Board is responsible for overseeing the district’s budget, mission, and daily activities. The District has broad powers to act expediently to meet the emergency needs of rapid mosquito development and avoidance of public health and nuisance hazards. The SLCMAD may take all necessary and proper steps for the extermination of mosquitoes, flies, crickets, grasshoppers and other insects and to abate as nuisances all stagnant pools of water or other breeding places.

Contact Information

Ary Faraji


(801) 355-9221 or


Agendas and Minutes

Bylaws and Governing Documents

Meeting Information

Third Thursday of the month, beginning at 12:30 p.m. (6:00 pm in June and December)

SLCMAD District Office, 2020 N. Redwood Rd., Salt Lake City, UT 84116

Member Qualifications

The Mosquito Abatement District Board of Trustees is made up of five members and are appointed by the City Council. Each term is four years.

Residency Requirements: Must be a resident of Salt Lake City.

Powers and Duties

  • Act expediently to meet emergency needs for rapid mosquito abatement
  • Take necessary steps for suppression of mosquitoes, flies, grasshoppers, and other insects
  • Abate nuisances in stagnant pools of water and other development sites

Current Members

Member Serving Since Council District Term Expires
Carlton Christensen April 2020 1 December 31, 2023
Van Turner June 2020 2 December 31, 2023
Amanda Barth  July 2022 7 December 31, 2025
Shireen Mooers July 2022 6 December 31, 2025
Neil Vickers August 2019 3 December 31, 2022