Salt Lake City

Boards and Commissions

(801) 535-7743

Planning Commission

The Salt Lake City Planning Commission adopts and acts on any changes to the City’s master plans, small area plans, special studies, zoning ordinances, and zoning district maps. The Commission also approves planned unit developments, conditional uses and certain subdivisions.

Agendas and Minutes

Bylaws and Governing Documents

Planning and Procedures

Meeting Information

Bi-monthly on the second and fourth Wednesdays of the month; beginning at 5:30 p.m.

City and County Building, Room 326, 451 S State, Salt Lake City

Member Qualifications

The commission shall consist of nine to eleven members balancing geographic, professional, neighborhood and community interests. The director of the planning division shall serve as an ex officio member without vote.

Powers and Duties

  • Prepare and recommend a comprehensive general plan to the City Council
  • Considers and makes recommendations to City regarding zoning and zoning ordinance changes
  • Hear and decide appeals from administrative hearing decisions of the planning director
  • Approves planned unit developments and subdivisions
  • Considers and makes rulings on conditional uses
  • Make rulings regarding the existence, expansion or modification of nonconforming use and noncomplying structures

Current Members

Member Serving Since Council District Term Expires
Carolynn Hoskins 2013 1 2021
Andres Paredes 2015 2 2020
Adrienne Bell 2018 3 2022
Brenda Scheer 2017 3 2021
Sara Urquhart 2016 4 2020
Matt Lyon 2014 5 2021
Maurine Bachman 2015 6 2019
Weston Clark 2016 6 2020
Amy Barry 2018 7 2022

How to Become a Planning Commissioner

Mayor Biskupski appoints Planning Commission members with the advice and consent of the City Council. Application information can be found here.

Contact Information

Marlene Rankins

Administrative Secretary

(801) 535-6171 or