Salt Lake City

Boards and Commissions

Transportation Advisory Board

The Transportation Advisory Board (TAB) was created by City Council ordinance in 1997 to provide recommendations to the Transportation Division, Mayor Erin Mendenhall, and City Council regarding transportation decisions and issues affecting Salt Lake City.

Contact Information

Amy Lyons

Office Facilitator

Agendas and Minutes

(801) 535-6630 or

Bylaws and Governing Documents

Electronic and Hybrid Meeting Policy

The Board voted to adopt a policy allowing electronic meetings pursuant to the State Code requirement for the Open and Public Meetings Act, allowing Board members or city participants to either attend in person or electronically with a minimum notice of 3 days.  This change was voted on and adopted on May 2, 2022

The Board voted to continue meeting electronically, including the public being able to attend and comment electronically while also having a physical anchor location for those who want to attend in person.  This change was voted on and adopted on May 2, 2022

Meeting Information

First Monday of the month, beginning at 4:00 p.m.

349 S 200 E, Ste 150, Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Member Qualifications

The Transportation Advisory Board consists of up to 15 members, each serving three-year terms. Membership consists of one resident from each of the City’s seven (7) city council districts, one representative of the Salt Lake City school district and one member of the bicycle standing committee. Other individuals, representing organizations with continuing interest and involvement in city transportation issues affecting Salt Lake City may be appointed members, including, for example, but not limited to, the League of Women Voters, the Downtown Alliance, the Utah Transit Authority, the Downtown Retail Merchants Association, the University of Utah, the Utah Department of Transportation, or a business organization. The Transportation Director and a representative of the Salt Lake City Police Department shall be ex officio members of the board with no voting privileges.

Residency Requirements: Must be a resident of the State. (Ord. 67-13, 2013)

Powers and Duties

  • Provide feedback on actions and studies underway by the Transportation Division
  • Review local and regional transportation issues and make recommendations to the transportation director, Mayor Mendenhall or city council
  • Assist in the development, implementation and ongoing updating of the city’s transportation master plans
  • Promote travel demand management strategies and encourage use of nonautomotive transportation modes
  • Promote public education of transportation issues affecting the city
  • Provide recommendations regarding priority and funding of transportation related capital improvement projects


Current Members

MemberServing SinceCouncil District/OrganizationTerm Expires
Justice Morath 20231 Sept 2026
Daniel Mendoza20174Sept 2025
Johnnae Nardone20225Sept 2025
Josh Stewart20236Sept 2026
Suzanne Stensaas – Vice Chair20177Sept 2025
Pat Casey2023Bicycle Advisory Committee Vice-ChairJuly 2024
Isaac Astill2023SLC School DistrictSept 2026
VacantUtah Department of Transportation
John Close2023University of UtahSept 2025
Matt Gray2023Utah Transit AuthoritySept 2026
Greg Sanchez – Chair2019Institute of Transportation Engineers (Utah Chapter)Sept 2026
Julie Bjornstad2023Wasatch Front Regional CouncilSept 2025
Craig Buschmann 2023HEAL Utah Sept 2025