Salt Lake City

Author Archive

COUNCIL: Victoria Petro, Chris Wharton to Lead Salt Lake City Council in 2024

Posted on: January 10th, 2024

The Salt Lake City Council welcomes its next phase of leadership with Members unanimously appointing peers Victoria Petro and Chris Wharton as the Council Chair and Vice Chair respectively for 2024. In their capacity as Redevelopment Agency (RDA) Board Members, Council Members also selected Alejandro Puy to serve a second one-year term as Board Chair and Darin Mano to serve as Board Vice Chair. Council and RDA leadership positions are selected every January. […]

Salt Lake City Mayor, Four Council Members Begin New Terms

Posted on: January 2nd, 2024

City Hall welcomes five newly sworn elected officials this afternoon with Mayor Erin Mendenhall and four City Council Members—Alejandro Puy, Eva Lopez Chavez, Dan Dugan, and Sarah Young—taking the oath of office and marking the official start of their respective terms. […]

COUNCIL: SLC Council Year-in-Review 2023

Posted on: December 29th, 2023

As 2023 ends, the Salt Lake City Council reflects on a year focused on livability, equity, and sustainable growth. The City’s trajectory was shaped by groundbreaking accomplishments and policy decisions aimed at benefiting City residents and businesses. Here are some of the Council’s key 2023 highlights: […]

Salt Lake City to Host Inauguration for Mayor, Council Members

Posted on: December 29th, 2023

Salt Lake City invites the public, media, and stakeholders to attend the Inauguration and Oath of Office Ceremony for the City’s elected officials. All will be sworn in to serve a four-year term except for District 7’s Sarah Young, who will serve two years. The District 7 seat will be back on the ballot in 2025 for a four-year term. […]

COUNCIL: December 12, 2023 Meetings

Posted on: December 13th, 2023

The Council held a follow-up discussion and public hearing on the proposed Budgetment Amendment No. 3, recognized Council Member Darin Mano for his dedication as 2023 Council Chair and Council Member Ana Valdemoros for her service to District 4, adopted a temporary land use regulation to facilitate the opening of the City’s Temporary Shelter Community pilot program, and more […]

COUNCIL: December 5, 2023 Meetings

Posted on: December 6th, 2023

The Council voted to approve Affordable Housing Incentives (AHI), voted to create a new form-based zone and apply it to the Fleet Block, convened as the Board of Canvassers to certify the results of the City’s Nov. 21 General Election, and more […]

COUNCIL: November 14, 2023 Meetings

Posted on: November 15th, 2023

The Council is scheduled to vote on the Affordable Housing Incentives proposal – likely on Dec. 5, voted to approve the Northpoint Small Area Plan, adopted the Historic Preservation Overlay Text Amendment, and more […]

COUNCIL: November 7, 2023 Meetings

Posted on: November 8th, 2023

The Council held a follow-up discussion on affordable housing incentives, welcomed Girl Scout Troop 1607 to present the colors during the formal meeting, joined Mayor Erin Mendenhall to recognize Nov. 20 as Transgender Day of Remembrance in SLC, and more […]

COUNCIL: October 17, 2023 Meetings

Posted on: October 18th, 2023

The Council voted to adopt the City’s anti-displacement plan, Thriving in Place; welcomed members of the public to share input on the Affordable Housing Incentives proposal; joined Mayor Erin Mendenhall in declaring October as Italian-American Heritage Month; and more […]

COUNCIL: October 10, 2023 Meetings

Posted on: October 11th, 2023

The Council received a presentation on housing data points, held a follow-up discussion on the Affordable Housing Incentives proposal, received a follow-up briefing on Budget Amendment No. 2, and more […]