Salt Lake City

Historic Preservation

Planning Division | (801) 535-7700 |

Local Historic Districts

Local Historic Districts

Local Historic Districts are designated by the City to protect and maintain the historic character of neighborhoods. Exterior changes and proposed demolitions are subject to local design review. The purpose of design review is to ensure that changes to historic properties are compatible with the site’s historic architecture, and to retain the most significant, or “character-defining” elements of a property. Design review, as well as demolition review, provide neighborhood stability in historic districts, since current and prospective property owners know that the distinctive architectural features of a particular neighborhood are protected over time.

Salt Lake City has fourteen Local Historic Districts. All of Salt Lake City’s historic districts are listed in the National Register, but not all National Register districts are locally designated.

Learn about each Local Historic District:

*Normandie Circle, Harvard Heights, Harvard Park, Laird Heights, Upper Harvard Yale Park, Princeton Heights, Princeton Park, Douglas Park